Monday, 25 November 2019
Media release

Industry Panel meets to drive 2020 Cyber Security Strategy forward

An Industry Advisory Panel that will help guide the development of Australia's 2020 Cyber Security Strategy has been established and held its first meeting today.

The panel is chaired by Andrew Penn, CEO of Telstra; with Robert Mansfield, Chair of Vocus Group; Robyn Denholm, Chair of Tesla; Chris Deeble, Chief Executive of Northrop Grumman Australia and Darren Kane, Chief Security Officer NBN Co as members.

"Cyber security is a shared responsibility and it's critical that government, industry and the entire community work together to find new ways to address the cyber security threats we all face," Mr Dutton said.

"The Panel has a depth of practical experience protecting families, businesses and governments from constantly evolving cyber threats and will ensure I am provided high calibre advice on the 2020 Cyber Security Strategy."

Mr Andrew Penn, who will lead this group, is incredibly well qualified with 40 year of experience across the telecommunications, finance and transport sectors, and has deep knowledge of the cyber risks.

Mr Penn said he was very pleased to be Chairing such an important panel which will play a key role in helping secure the nation's future.

"Telstra has a long history of working alongside the Australian Government on both operational security and cyber policy issues," Mr Penn said.

"Given our place in Australia's telecommunications past, present and future, we recognise that our role does not stop at our own networks; we know we have an important role to play in supporting our nation to be cyber resilient. 

"I strongly believe that building this secure foundation is a shared responsibility for governments, the private sector and the community."

At its first meeting, the panel considered the outcomes of initial consultation, including submissions to the public discussion paper which closed on 1 November 2019.

"I want to thank the Australian community for their enthusiastic participation in the consultation so far," Mr Dutton said.

"More than 1,000 people attended a consultation event in person, and my Department received more than 200 submissions with more than 1,300 pages of written feedback. The Government will carefully consider all of these views".

"One thing is already very clear — the community understands the threats Australia faces online and is asking Government and industry to do more. Delivering meaningful change is therefore my first priority for the 2020 Cyber Security Strategy".

For more information visit https://www.homeaffairs.gov.au/reports-and-publications/submissions-and-discussion-papers/cyber-security-strategy-2020


Mr Andrew Penn

Mr Penn is Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director at Telstra, Australia's largest telecommunications company. He has had an extensive career spanning 40 years across three industries - telecommunications, financial services and shipping - and is a supporter of numerous charitable and social causes.

Mr Robert Mansfield AO

Mr Mansfield is Chair of Vocus Group, a telecommunications infrastructure provider. He has held several CEO positions, including at Optus Telecommunications, and has filled a number of specialist roles for the Australian Government, including as Strategic Investment Coordinator within the Prime Minister's Office. In 2000, Mr Mansfield was appointed as an Officer of the Order of Australia award for his contribution to Australian business and economic development and to the telecommunications industry.

Ms Robyn Denholm

Ms Denholm was appointed Board Chair of Tesla in 2018 and has served as a director since 2014. She was previously Chief Operations Officer at Telstra and held a number of senior positions at Juniper Networks, a networking equipment manufacturer. Ms Denholm's extensive corporate experience also includes Sun Microsystems, Toyota Motor Corporation, Arthur Andersen and Company (an accounting firm) and ABB Ltd (an industrial technology company).

Mr Chris Deeble AO CSC

Mr Deeble is Chief Executive of Northrop Grumman Australia, a provider of cyber security solutions to Australia's Defence Force. Prior to this he worked for Airservices Australia and served in the Australian Defence Force. In 2007 he was awarded the Conspicuous Service Cross. In 2016 he was appointed as an Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to the Australian Defence Force.

Mr Darren Kane

Mr Kane has been the Chief Security Officer at NBN Co since March 2015. His career has included 13 years with the Australian Federal Police and 6.5 years with the Australian Securities and Investments Commission. Mr Kane moved to Telstra in 2004 where he completed 11 years in varied management roles culminating in 4.5 years as Director, Corporate Security and Investigations.