Wednesday, 24 July 2019
Media release

Appointment of Australian Federal Police Commissioner

The Government will recommend to the Governor-General that Mr Reece Kershaw APM be appointed as the 8th Australian Federal Police Commissioner.

Commissioner Kershaw commenced with the Northern Territory Police Force (NTPF) in February 2011 and in April 2015 was appointed Commissioner of Police and Chief Executive Officer of the Northern Territory Police, Fire and Emergency Services.

Prior to commencing with the NTPF Commissioner Kershaw was with the Australian Federal Police, including secondments to the National Crime Authority, the Australian Crime Commission and overseas postings to The Hague, East Timor and the Solomon Islands.

He is a Graduate of the Federal Bureau of Investigation Law Enforcement Executive Development Program and was awarded the Australian Police Medal in the 2016 Australian Day Honours.

We congratulate Commissioner Kershaw on his appointment at a time when the AFP needs to be future ready to meet the challenges posed by those that would seek to do us harm, here and abroad.

The Government again sincerely thanks Commissioner Colvin for the service that he has provided to the Australian community for the last 30 years as a member of the AFP. 

Commissioner Colvin enjoyed an extensive AFP career that covered roles in serious and organised crime, counter terrorism, chief of staff and high tech crime. In 2002 Andrew was awarded the Order of Australia Medal for his investigative work into the 2002 Bali bombings.  We wish Andrew every success in his future endeavours.