Friday, 01 February 2019
Media release

Joint media release with the Hon Troy Grant MP - Disaster assistance extended for NSW communities

Disaster assistance has been extended to the local government areas of Clarence Valley, Wollondilly and Lachlan in response to storms and floods occurring from 13 December 2018 onwards.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Assistant Minister for Home Affairs Senator the Hon. Linda Reynolds, who has responsibility for Commonwealth disaster assistance, said affected communities were still feeling the impacts of the storm.

“These storms and floods have had significant impacts on the community. This funding will continue to support their recovery and assist with the cost of operational response activities,” Assistant Minister Reynolds said.

“Through the DRFA, the Commonwealth and New South Wales governments continue to work closely to ensure affected communities are supported.”

NSW Minister for Emergency Services Troy Grant said the extension of joint government financial aid would support those who are suffering personal hardship, while funding for local councils will help with the cost of cleaning up.

“This assistance will ensure communities in these affected areas can better recover, rebuild and replace damaged public infrastructure, and that includes repairing roads,” Minister Grant said.

“We know some people have been doing it really tough since these storms struck so we’re very proud to lend a helping hand to make sure communities can get back on their feet.”

The following assistance is available to the activated local government areas under the DRFA:

  • Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged;
  • Support for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets;
  • Concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations;
  • Freight subsidies for primary producers; and,
  • Grants to non-profit organisations.

The extension of disaster assistance to the local government areas of Clarence Valley, Wollondilly and Lachlan comes after a similar declaration was made in December last year for the Hills, Hornsby, Parramatta, Campbelltown and Sutherland Local Government Areas.

For information on personal hardship and distress assistance, contact the Disaster Welfare Assistance Line on 1800 018 444.

To apply for a concessional loan, grant or freight subsidy, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593 or visit www.raa.nsw.gov.au.

Information on disaster assistance available for this natural disaster can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au and the Emergency NSW website at www.emergency.nsw.gov.au.