Tuesday, 23 April 2019
Media release

Joint media release with The Hon Craig Crawford MP - Disaster assistance extended to Douglas Shire for Severe Tropical Cyclone Trevor

Disaster assistance is now available for Douglas Shire Council following Severe Tropical Cyclone Trevor.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-Queensland Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Minister for Emergency Management and North Queensland Recovery Senator the Hon Linda Reynolds CSC and Queensland Minister for Fire and Emergency Services Craig Crawford said the assistance would help the local council to recover as quickly as possible.

“The Commonwealth and Queensland Governments are committed to supporting the recovery of communities impacted by Severe Tropical Cyclone Trevor, including Douglas Shire,” Minister Reynolds said.

“Cyclones can place a significant financial burden on local councils and it is clear that the flooding rain from Tropical Cyclone Trevor has taken a toll on infrastructure in the area.”

Minister Crawford said the severe weather system was the fourth natural disaster event communities in Douglas had endured this summer.

“Since December last year Douglas has withstood Cyclones Owen, Penny and Trevor, as well as the destruction brought on by the North and Far North Queensland Monsoon Trough in January and February,” Minister Crawford said.

“Today’s funding announcement will help Douglas Shire Council alleviate the cost of counter-disaster operations including sand-bagging, tree clearing and debris removal, as well as the reconstruction of essential public assets from this latest event.”

A range of DRFA assistance measures are now available in 19 local government areas in response to Severe Tropical Cyclone Trevor: Aurukun, Barcaldine, Barcoo, Blackall-Tambo, Boulia, Bulloo, Burke, Cloncurry, Cook, Diamantina, Douglas, Isaac, Lockhart River, Longreach, Mornington, Murweh, Pormpuraaw, Quilpie and Winton.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au and the Queensland Government’s Disaster Management website at www.disaster.qld.gov.au.