Wednesday, 06 March 2019
Media release

Nominations open for the 2019 Resilient Australia Awards

Applications are now open for the 2019 Resilient Australia Awards.

Now in their 20th year, the awards celebrate those in our community who show initiative in helping to create a more disaster resilient Australia.

Minister for Defence Industry, Emergency Management and North Queensland Recovery Senator the Hon. Linda Reynolds said this summer has reminded us that natural hazards are a fact of life for Australians.

“Events over recent weeks and months reinforce how vital it is that we share knowledge which builds community resilience to disasters and emergencies around Australia,” Minister Reynolds said.

“The Resilient Australia Awards highlight achievements that may otherwise be unrecognised, with stories that promote disaster resilience through community spirit and leadership.

“Disaster resilience is a shared responsibility and our National Strategy for Disaster Resilience acknowledges that all sectors of society must work closely together with a united focus to manage disaster risk.

“The Australian Government is committed to making our communities safer, stronger and better prepared. These awards are part of that commitment.”

Submissions are accepted in each state and territory for business, community, government, schools and photography awards. The awards are open to all Australians, including individuals, not for profit organisations, small and large businesses, local and state government, schools, education institutions, research bodies, and emergency service agencies.

More than 100 applications were received for last year’s awards. Winners included:

  • National Award: My Resilient Community (Queensland Fire and Emergency Services, Queensland Police Service, Moreton Bay Regional Council – Queensland)
  • National School Award: Firestick project (Dixons Creek Primary School; a Wurundjeri-led project with support from Yarra Ranges Council and the Department of Land, Environment, Water and Planning – Victoria)
  • National Photography Award: Dousing the flames (Navin Chandra – Northern Territory)

“The Australian Government is proud to sponsor these awards in partnership with the Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience and the states and territories.”

Applications are open until 17 May 2019. For more information and to apply go to www.aidr.org.au/resilient-australia-awards.