Monday, 25 May 2020
Media release

Modern Slavery Expert Advisory Group Appointments

Ten Australian experts in combating modern slavery and supply chain management have been appointed to the Government’s Modern Slavery Expert Advisory Group (Expert Advisory Group).

Announcing the appointments today, Assistant Minister for Customs, Community Safety and Multicultural Affairs, the Hon Jason Wood MP, said the Expert Advisory Group was a world leading initiative that brought together key experts with practical knowledge and expertise in combating modern slavery.

“The Expert Advisory Group is being established at a time where the effects of COVID 19 are being felt across global supply chains and are significantly impacting workers, particularly those already vulnerable to exploitation.”

“This new body will provide strategic advice to Government to support the effective implementation of Australia’s Modern Slavery Act and drive best-practice responses to eradicate exploitation in our supply chains,” Assistant Minister Wood said.

“I congratulate the successful candidates on their appointment and I look forward to working with them to further strengthen Australia’s response to this important issue.”

The Expert Advisory Group includes five permanent members from the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Australian Industry Group, Business Council of Australia, Global Compact Network Australia and the Law Council of Australia.

Following a call for public nomination, the ten appointments to the Expert Advisory Group are:

  • Liana Allan, Founder, Migration Alliance
  • Kate Baker, Senior Sustainability Specialist, Telstra
  • Måns Carlsson-Sweeny, Head of Environmental, Social and Governance Research, Ausbil Investment Management
  • Sebastian Conley, Sourcing Operations Manager, Country Road Group and David Jones
  • Ro Coroneos, Senior Manager, Risk - Supply Chain, Lendlease Corporation
  • Chris Crewther, Former Chair, Modern Slavery Inquiry (Hidden in Plain Sight), Foreign Affairs and Aid-Sub Committee, Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade, Australian Parliament
  • Dr Kate van Doore, Senior Lecturer, Griffith Law School
  • Katie Knaggs, Group Ethical Sourcing Manager, Costa Group and representative of the Australian Fresh Produce Alliance
  • Sonya Rand, Sustainable Development Manager, Bunnings
  • Sunil Rao, Lecturer, La Trobe University Law School