Saturday, 26 June 2021
Media release

Joint media release with Senator the Hon Linda Reynolds CSC - Australian Government COVID-19 assistance for NSW

The Australian Government Chief Medical Officer has now declared Greater Sydney, the Blue Mountains, the Central Coast and Wollongong COVID-19 hotspots for the purposes of Commonwealth support.

The COVID-19 Disaster Payment for the new LGAs will become available on 4th July 2021 for eligible people in these areas. This payment is for people who reside or work in a Commonwealth declared hotspot and can’t attend work as a result of state imposed health restrictions lasting greater than one week.

Eligible people will receive $500 if they’ve lost 20 hours or more of work, and $325 if they’ve lost less than 20 hours of work. They must not have liquid assets of more than $10,000 or be in receipt of other payments.

The original 7 LGAs that were declared on the 23rd June 2021, City of Sydney, Waverley, Randwick, Canada Bay, Inner West, Bayside, Woollahra will have their COVID-19 Disaster Payments available from the 1st July 2021.

Further information will be made available when this payment comes into effect.

Services Australia has swiftly provided services and support at every stage of the pandemic. Other payments that may be available to eligible people include Pandemic Leave Disaster Payment and JobSeeker Payment.

There is no need to contact Services Australia at this time.

For more information and to check your eligibility for payments, visit: servicesaustralia.gov.au/COVID19