Tuesday, 30 March 2021
Media release

Joint media release with The Hon. Stuart Robert MP - Additional Australian Government assistance for NSW storms and floods

The Australian Government has extended the Australian Government Disaster Recovery Payment (AGDRP) and Disaster Recovery Allowance (DRA) to support those significantly affected by the storms and flooding in more areas of New South Wales with over $71 million paid to flood affected residents to date.

People in the Gilgandra, Lachlan, Lithgow and Queanbeyan-Palerang local government areas can now access the support package.

Minister for Emergency Management David Littleproud said the package provides assistance to those who had suffered a significant loss due to the storms and floods.

“The AGDRP provides a one-off payment of $1,000 for eligible adults and $400 for eligible children, who have been seriously injured, lost their homes or whose homes have been directly damaged, or the immediate family members of a person who has lost their life, as a direct result of the storms and floods,” Minister Littleproud said.

“The DRA provides a short-term income support payment to assist individuals whose income has been affected as a direct result of the storms and floods.

“By making these payments available, the Australian Government will ensure that those who have lost or sustained damage to their homes or lost their livelihoods as a result of the floods, will have the additional assistance they need to help them get back on their feet.

“Now that the flood waters are receding, damage assessments have commenced and the Australian Government is working closely with New South Wales to ensure all affected areas can receive the recovery support they need.”

These local government areas are in addition to the sixty local government areas of Armidale, Ballina, Bathurst, Bega Valley, Bellingen, Blacktown, Blue Mountains, Brewarrina, Byron, Cabonne, Camden, Campbelltown, Canterbury Bankstown, Central Coast, Cessnock, Clarence Valley, Cobar, Coffs Harbour, Cumberland, Dungog, Eurobodalla, Fairfield, Glen Innes Severn, Gunnedah, Gwydir, Hawkesbury, Hornsby, Inner West, Inverell, Kempsey, Ku-ring-gai, Kyogle, Lake Macquarie, Lismore, Liverpool, Liverpool Plains, Maitland, Mid-Coast, Moree Plains, Nambucca Valley, Narrabri, Newcastle, Northern Beaches, Oberon, Orange, Parramatta, Penrith, Port Macquarie-Hastings, Port Stephens, Richmond Valley, Shoalhaven, Singleton, Sutherland, Tenterfield, The Hills, Tweed, Walcha, Walgett, Wingecarribee and Wollondilly.

Minister for Government Services, Stuart Robert, said Services Australia staff are providing ongoing immediate on-the-ground support to people affected by the floods across New South Wales.

“I am proud to say we’ve already been able to help 56,000 people affected by the floods in NSW with claims for assistance,” Minister Robert said.

“Mobile Service Teams and Mobile Service Centres continue to have a large presence at a number of locations in flood affected communities in New South Wales.

“For the most up to date information on the locations of Mobile Service Centres people can go to the Services Australia website, at servicesaustralia.gov.au/mobileoffice, to see where the teams will be.

“In addition to this, our Port Macquarie, Kempsey, Taree, Moree and Hawkesbury Service Centres will be open from 9 am to 1 pm on Saturday and Monday over the Easter weekend to provide support to people impacted by the floods.”

People eligible for DRA can access income assistance for up to 13 weeks, equivalent to the maximum rate of Jobseeker Payment or Youth Allowance.

Equivalent financial assistance will also be available to eligible New Zealand citizens (‘non-protected’ Special Category Visa, subclass 444 holders) affected by the storms and floods.

This week, and over the Easter long weekend, Services Australia Disaster Assistance phone lines will be open the following days and times:

  • 8am to 8pm local time from Monday 29 March to Wednesday 31 March
  • 8am to 5pm local time Thursday 1 April
  • Closed Friday 2 April (Good Friday)
  • 8am to 5pm local time Saturday 3 April
  • Closed Sunday 4 April (Easter Sunday)
  • 8am to 5pm local time Monday 5 April.

For more information on support available, visit servicesaustralia.gov.au/disaster.

More information on Australian Government disaster assistance, including a full list of local government areas where the payment has been activated is available at www.disasterassist.gov.au